Posted on

What does it mean to be a Buddhist?

Once a person has taken refuge in the Buddha the Dharma (the path) and the Sangha (the community), she has committed herself to following the path toward enlightenment. There are many levels of commitment, from being a lay person to joining a monastery. The most basic level of commitment is to attempt to adhere to the ten precepts:

Don’t kill                                                                     

 Don’t steal                                                                 

Don’t engage in illicit sex                                              

Don’t tell lies                                                               

Don’t speak divisively                                                    

Don’t speak abusively                                                 

Don’t engage in idle gossip                                     

Abandon greed                                                     

Abandon ill will                                                      

Cultivate right views


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s