Posted on

Blogger’s Lament

This should be sung to the tune of  Nightrider’s Lament by Michael Burton, which I learned from Jerry Jeff Walker’s version, Cowboy Song and which I encourage the WeSki Cousins to play every time I see them perform, which is not often enough.

 

Blogger’s Lament

 

 

As I was up a writin’,

Graveyard shift, midnight ‘till dawn,

The screen was as bright as a readin’ light,

For a letter from my old friend back home.

 

She asked me; now why do you write for your money?

Tell me why do you post, short pay?

You’re not gettin’ nowhere, and you’re losin’ you’re share,

Why don’t you change your slanderous ways.

 

She said ‘last week I run onto Kenny,

He’s married now and has a good wife,

Oh you sure missed the track when you never come back,

You could a been a billionaire’s wife.’

 

But she’s never seen the northern lights.

She’s never seen a hawk on the wing.

She’s never seen the spring hit the great divide,

And, she never got a New York Times ping.

 

I read up the last of my letter,

Stored it on my big ‘ol hard drive.

Little Dougie dialed up to my web-log,

He just looked at that blank screen and grinned.

 

He asked me now why do you write for your money?

Tell me why do you post, short pay?

You aint getting’ nowhere and you’re losing your share,

It’s a crazy old blogosphere.

 

 But he’s never seen the northern lights.

He’s never seen a hawk on the wing.

He’s never seen the spring hit the great divide,

And, he’s never got a New York Times ping.

 

Please give attribution to jasjuice.wordpress.com when you perform this. Don’t steal. Korsan yapma. Thank you.

 

 

 

2 responses to “Blogger’s Lament

  1. Jim Gold ⋅

    ahh, I don’t know the Jerry Jeff song, but your blogger’s tune sound very much like Nightrider’s Lament , which was written by Michael Burton. It was covered by JJW, Ian Tyson, Garth Brooks, WeSki Cousins, etc.
    jus’ bein’ picky..

  2. me ⋅

    Hey, I’m no musicologist. All I know is that I was singing Jerry Jeff’s version of the song which is the only one I know, when I started substituting words. Thanks for pointing out my mistake.

Leave a Reply

